Knicks Fanatics

The Ultimate In Knicks Fandom and Fellowship

Gallo is Concerned But Not Worried

 

 

Danilo Galinari is a shooter and he is not concerned about his current 3-13 shooting slump. "I’m not worried," he said. "Sometimes that happens . . . but that’s not a problem."  In all fairness, this is only a pre-season game and thirteen shots in two games is nothing.   Shooters shoot their way out of slumps and 13 shots in two games is ridiculously low for a “star-in-waiting.”

According to Marc Berman, Galinari was very upset about how he played. I like that attitude.  Remember, you cannot measure how much heart can improve, enhance or transcend ability.

After Friday’s ugly 96-84 loss in Boston, Gallinari’s body language in the locker room spoke volumes. At his locker, he was cloaked in a black sweatjacket, hood pulled over his head. He snuck out of the locker room as reporters spoke to Lee. The writers caught up with Gallinari outside. The Italian Stallion seemed more upset than at any point during his pain-ridden rookie year.

Some are starting to blame Gallo’s legs for the shooting woes, but common sense does indicate that the combination of conditioning and recent major back surgery will slow whatever Galinari’s progress will be.

It’s not time to panic yet.  After all remember how poorly Crawford started the preseason last year.  Craw was using hte season to get a feel for the game in D’Antoni’s system and eventually he and ZBo caught on.  So it is a little early to press that non-functioning eject button.

October 11, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

30 Comments »

  1. D’amn, talk about kicking a man when he’s down!It’s only preseason and the shitkickers are out of the closet!Lock all the upper windows in those McMansions, it’s rainin’ Knicknockers!But here’s the deal-i-o, it’s a team game and guys have to give whatever is needed to build a team, “Do something ELSE to HELP the TEAM! as well as their own particular over self-inflicted over inflated so/called skill.Anyone who has ever played this game knows you win together and you lose together.Problem is you don’t get paid together.That’s why I like rookies, they haven’t figure out, “let me get mine, so when I move on from this bitch….” part.Even D’Antoni seems to have figured out this bunch, of so far underachievers, can only win if they play both sides of the court together.They aren’t good enough to do it any other way.Sooooo…, he has to do a much better job of coaching team D, or he may not even make it to court LebreakforNY.Still, there is something about this crew that I like, call me crazy, deaf dumb and blind.There are no stars or attitudes, (where’s Marbs?) they seem to get along and they look like they are willing to work to win.In other words, they are prime for coaching.What else can a coach ask for, besides ubertalent?So that’s where I’d like to lay the weight.If coached well on D, they already share the ball okay, and they will get better.Remember, our goal is to be the Best of the Rest,and make ourselves pretty for LeBolt&Run.Gallo is what he is, a talented, but step slow, Euro gunner.Okay, he stll tries hard.Darko needs to relax and stuff the middle.If he can’t we need to find another body, because Lee can’t do it for a winner, a loser okay, but not a winner.Too small, and no hops for stops.Both rooks may be lost in MSG space, but they show no fear and are willing and able.That’s engaging if nothing else.Go rookies!This team, Darko willing and partially able, and maybe he could post and pass just a smidge just to move the defense around a little and open things up, can win some games if they pick up their collective heads, lower their intractable d-up azzes and spread their arms out wide to embrace their inner defensive selves.Yeah, we all play defense sometimes in our lives, remember when you walked in just a little too late and were attacked with, “Where you been, you’re late?” Your azz was playing D for all you were worth then, weren’t you?Right now the weight is on the coach to coach.
    Whatchagotm-f?
    Free Plax/LGK

    Comment by Tman :) | October 11, 2009 | Reply

    • Yah man. I agree 100% that it starts with the coaching. This group can be coached better, but can the coach coach better with this group? If he can, this will be a much more enjoyable season. You’re right; it is what it is and it will be what the coach allows it to be. But one of the problems is that while a coach can stoke a fire, it’s not his job to start one. That’s what the players get paid for. They approached the Celtics game like it was an exhibition while the Celtics approached it like they were getting ready for a championship. Players gotta bring that intensity.

      Yeah, it’s only a preseason game, but it is certainly an opportunity to get better for the regular season. If this is how the Knicks practice, how do you expect them to perform when it counts for something more.

      Comment by livesinnewjersey | October 11, 2009 | Reply

      • Hear ya, but the C’s are the top of the food chain.But even hyenas can be pretty efficient if they work together.If we have a big to cork the middle, then all things will be possible, but in small doses.We need to inflict some small wounds, withdaD,the death of 1,000 cuts, and the system will bring on bigger victories.Work hard and the fear will spread before you, then vics will give up the victories.Been there, done that.Question is does D’Antoni believe.So let it be written in his book of practices, so let it be done.
        Free Plax/LGK

        Comment by Tman :) | October 11, 2009

  2. Point me to the EJECT BUTTON!

    Comment by Peaceman | October 12, 2009 | Reply

  3. ALBANY, N.Y. — New York’s top court is set to consider whether the state had the authority to condemn property and force its sale to a developer as part of the Atlantic Yards project, which includes a new arena in Brooklyn for the New Jersey Nets basketball team.

    The Court of Appeals will hear oral arguments Wednesday. Developer Bruce Ratner’s proposed $4.9 billion, 22-acre project also includes office towers and apartments, funded in part with $600 million in tax-exempt bonds to be sold by a Dec. 31 deadline.

    Some businesses and homeowners are challenging the Empire State Development Corp.’s power to force them out, saying the state constitution authorizes eminent domain for public uses, not enriching others.

    Lower courts have upheld the project.

    We’re about to find out the value of the ruble.This could be important in the race for the Big LeRuble!

    Comment by Tman :) | October 12, 2009 | Reply

  4. Tman, I am going to see if I can find more info on the issues of the case. Perhaps I’ll have a little time to break them down for a little discussion.

    Whaddsup brethren, LIVES is in the house this evening. Hanging with the family and trying to cook up some treats for the Fanatic family. Another good day today, so I think I can play a little tonight. We’ll see what my wife says bout that.

    O.K., O&B is not available tomorrow for the LBE but I will set it up if there is interest. I should actually assume that there is interest since we have a whole bunch of stealth viewers trying to keep up with the game. But give me a holler and let me whether you’ll join us for a few minutes or a quarter or four. We play the undefeated 76ers as we experiment before the regular season.

    Holler back. I’m about to get comfortable and hang out until it’s time to wash the dishes.

    Comment by livesinnewjersey | October 12, 2009 | Reply

  5. Brethren I’m chillin’ with this nice smooth bottle of Wilderness 2008; perhaps not a very good year, but this is some nice smooth Chardonnay.

    I’ve been moving some things around in my spare time today — added a couple of videos, nothing major, on the vodpod; one of them is Nate dunking on the Letterman show before we found out Letterman was taking his employee-girlfriend on family trips. (Is it just me or don’t you think Letterman’s wife knew the deal? You folks be trippin’ not even knowing what private agreements spouses have. LOL. I say she knew– come on. She worked in the office before she married him). Oh well.

    The key thing that’s got me hoppin is the two songs on the Playlist that I added. I think they are both appropriate in describing the condition of Knick fandom. One is “It’s Love” (#2 on the list) and the other is “Hate On Me.” I think I’m doing a post on “Hate On Me,” in response to those Knicks fans who want to define all knick fandom as being a fanboy and drinking that Jonestown colored sugar juice.

    I’m starting to feel a little loose. “They say I’m crazy the way the Knicks got me open, baby. . .They say I’m trippin’. . . ain’t a question of pride. . . It’s love, it’s love.”

    Comment by livesinnewjersey | October 12, 2009 | Reply

    • I’m on the Knicks caravan whether it’s going to Shangrila or it falls off a cliff into a shyt river w/o a paddle.

      I’ve seen good days and bad with this team and would love to see them win that one Chip that would make all the down nights worth the while.

      But ride or die till the the very end bro! Ride or die!

      Comment by orangeandblue1 | October 12, 2009 | Reply

  6. Whaddsup, I am excited about this upcoming season. Funk the Knicks; they’re trying to break my heart. I’m glad the boys are back in town.

    How in the world can you beat a lineup of Paul, DLT, Prince, Peaceman, O&B, Tman, Cooley, Modi, Steady, George M., AntiNYSN, and my man Statesman (I know, I’m missing somebody. It’s the juice.)? Those are some heavy mofos. You make a serious mistake coming to this site just for the stupid ass posts. The real throw down is below the penthouse. The penthouse be freaky but the foundation is rockin’. Then throw in some newbies trying to earn their stripes and my other D.C. crew and you got a recipe for a season of fun. Where is Kevin Harewood by the way? Sharp brother.

    African? I love him too, but he dumped our asses after he got punked by Peaceman and tricked by Curry. Now, I could play Obama and try to get Peaceman to apologize for all the wacked out shyte he wrote to African; but the truth is that those mofos deserve each other for sharing that garbage with me. Kiss my white ass.

    No, I’m not drunk yet, but “I love you man.” ROFLMAO.

    Don’t let the season get you guys down; I got some surprises for you and I’m aiming for the Fanatics Convention in New York, endorsed by Peacemongerer.

    Comment by livesinnewjersey | October 12, 2009 | Reply

    • GO KNICKS…..I MIGHT AS WELL SAY THIS NOW CUZ BY (sorry bout the caps) cuz by december,ill be saying”another freeeekin year of breakin my heart,and i dont want us to sign lebron james,id rather grow my tEAM from home

      Comment by auggie | October 12, 2009 | Reply

  7. My conscious just asked me will I regret anything I just typed and shared with the world.

    Answer: Hell to da naw. ROFLMAO.

    Time to write a post. I hope there’s something interesting to write about, because writing about bulllshyte is no fun (but I’ll do what I gotta do to keep the community active including sponsoring a fu*king “Happy Weak.” Which was very successful by the way. Go figure).

    BBL (Be Back Later)

    Comment by livesinnewjersey | October 12, 2009 | Reply

    • Howz about starting up an UNHAPPY WEEK

      Comment by auggie | October 12, 2009 | Reply

  8. Whats up O&B. You’re my dawg. Nobody does an LBE like you. Your ass just needs to be on time. LOL.

    Comment by livesinnewjersey | October 12, 2009 | Reply

    • I may do a cameo brudder!

      Lives my lad,

      My girl had me on lock down with chores on my Colombine day off.

      Who woulda thought a National Holiday- celebrating genocide go figure huh?- woulda required that I be ordered to work around the house.

      I shoulda been morning Columbus’ atrocities to my kinfolk throughout the americas.

      I got the hook ups for Friday and will try to do a cameo today. Sorry bout not getting the graphics out yesterday.

      My sincerest apologies bro!

      Comment by Ghost of O&B | October 13, 2009 | Reply

      • If you show up,even for a cameo, all is forgiven.

        I don’t want your lady mad at you or else you’ll never get to use the computer again.

        Comment by livesinnewjersey | October 13, 2009

  9. O.K., I’ve got to share this. I know Bronx, with the super-daughter, will appreciate this.

    I’m not the kind of Dad that tells you every minute how great you’re doing. I’m more like my mom who made no big deal of excellence because that shyte is expected. So I don’t celebrate excellence. I’m not the guy who starts cheering after hitting the game winning shot (which I did again this morning). I expect to beat your ass. I only get emotional when I lose. So I treat my daughter the same way, but this time I had to give her her props. My little 5th grader scored in the 100 percentile in math in the State of Lives In New Jersey. I was very impressed; I never did that good.

    But in the spirit of keeping it real, she knew a very important rule (Statesman will appreciate this) double and triple check. Don’t assume that you’re so fu*kin smart that you got it right the first time. She caught a few errors following the rule.

    Yeah, I’m proud. LGK

    Comment by livesinnewjersey | October 12, 2009 | Reply

    • Congrats on a great family!You are blessed.Lets Go Family!

      Comment by Tman :) | October 12, 2009 | Reply

    • ‘Lives’,

      Congrats to you and your family. 100%!!! That’s an achievement.

      Peace & Blessings

      Comment by Statesman2 | October 13, 2009 | Reply

    • Congratulations to you and yours.

      Go Family!

      Comment by Ghost of O&B | October 13, 2009 | Reply

    • Thanks for the kind words guys. I should clarify something I wrote though. I don’t want to leave the impression that I don’t acknowledge excellence; my shorthand was poor. My point is that we keep high expectations and don’t get too high on doing what is expected as though it is unusual. My firm belief is that there are many kids out there who would do so much better if they were loved and given higher expectations.

      By way of example, graduating from elementary school should not be a big deal for the child. The child should be expected to do the school work to the best of his or her ability. Of course, the child does better with a parent (or someone) who is an advocate and feeding the child love, but school work and keeping a room clean should be the only job a child has. (And I am not counting the hard work some kids have just surviving day to day, but that is another issue.

      I think excellence should be celebrated, but with the idea that it is expected and to encourage others. I always took issue with Bill Cosby’s approach. He was so against competition and winning awards that he refused to accept the awards, but despite his degrees and accomplishments he didn’t quite get that every achievement was an opportunity to let others know it could be done. Every win provided him a platform to tell others what it took to do one’s best and be the best one could be.

      The Knicks will win again and play defense again when they are in an environment and with a coach that expects them to win. Right now, they are not expected to be excellent. Some of them probably don’t expect excellence from themselves. The failure of expectations will be the first defeat and the cause of the last defeat.

      You guys know what’s good. Tman, is your son out of college yet?

      LGK

      Comment by livesinnewjersey | October 13, 2009 | Reply

  10. Opps, I think I owe some of our readers an apology. This is the deal, every once in a while when I get some juice, free time and some good sounds, I let loose and talk to myself and my boys.

    So is this a Knicks blog? This is our blog about the Knicks. So take this as a disclaimer: Lives is talking about whatever he wants to tonight, so just skip the damn posts.

    Since we are averaging 200 hits a day, I should’ve given the disclaimer earlier because I know many of you just don’t know the truth: Lives is fu*ked up.

    Now you know, so don’t complain if you decide to read his comments with tangential relevance to D’Antoni. Remember, the revolution will not be televised, but the Knicks Championship will.

    Wife calling. Dinner time!! LOL.

    Comment by livesinnewjersey | October 12, 2009 | Reply

    • You gotta try some Mead Lives! Argh!

      Comment by Ghost of O&B | October 13, 2009 | Reply

      • Uh, what’s mead?

        Comment by livesinnewjersey | October 13, 2009

  11. Lives:

    A Fanatics Convention should be fun. Select a locale, perhaps a sports bar before or after a Knick game sometime in late December or early January–so we can offer advance notice and make preparations–bring appropriate orange and blue ribbons, baloons, confetti, etc., along with name tags. Even if the Knicks are dreadful, we could raise a toast to the winners of the Old School Dance Team. Just set a date and I’m there.

    I expect the Knicks will show more energy and intensity in Tuesday’s game against Philadephia. Playing at home in front of the MSG crowd should inspire a better effort than what was exhibited in Boston. LGK

    Comment by Post-up Prince | October 12, 2009 | Reply

    • JUST COME INTO MY BAR IN THE BRONX (ON NIGHTS I’M WORKING)FOR SOME DRINKS AND KNICKERBOCKER TALK

      Comment by auggie | October 12, 2009 | Reply

      • I REALLY NEED TO SPEW ON AND ON ABOUT THE KNICKS LOUSY WAY OF BUILDING THEIR TEAM AND OF ALL THE SHILLS ON THE OTHER BLOGS,WHO TRY TO DRILL INTO OUR HEADS THAT “IN DONNIE WE TRUST”

        Comment by auggie | October 12, 2009

      • Auggie, that’s a wonderful invitation. We might need to see if that’s a viable option. I’m always down for libations and good company — well at least until the doctor tells me that good company is not good for my health.

        Comment by livesinnewjersey | October 13, 2009

    • We are definitely having a conference. New Jersey would have been a decent option but the Knicks-Nets last game is on December 30th. That would have been a good option because we could get more bang for our buck at the Meadowlands. So we’ll need to figure something out that is fun and not overly expensive. I’m about to see if I can raise a little money to help subsidize our conference. It is a must.

      I started a fictitious piece a long time ago about a conference we had which was really an intervention for Ed Drossman and Frank Isola. It was funny when I started it. . . .but I couldn’t finish it in a timely fashion.

      Comment by livesinnewjersey | October 13, 2009 | Reply

  12. Auggie,

    If your down for a Fanatics reunion your welcom to serve up the bar just don’t spike the drinks with more Knicks 2010 and in Donnie we trust koolaid!

    Comment by Ghost of O&B | October 13, 2009 | Reply

  13. —–Specialized Karen Millen outlets.We give away HI-Q Karen Millen Dresses and so on for sale.Buy lessen Karen Millen dresses,enjoy lowest quotation and fastest shipping.

    Comment by carpinteyroidl | December 4, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

