Knicks Fanatics

The Ultimate In Knicks Fandom and Fellowship

KNICKS FANATICS IS MOVING ON UP, JOINING BLOGUIN.COM; NEW SITE OPEN HOUSE ON OCTOBER 16th

KF Joins Bloguin2

 

We are extremely pleased to announce that Knicks Fanatics has joined the fast growing blog network, Bloguin.comThe new site at KnicksFanaticsblog.com will open on October 16th, 2009 and will immediately become our permanent home for the 2009-2010 season and beyond.

This move by Knicks Fanatics marks an historic moment in our growth.  In April, after the Knicks season ended early, we moved our independent blog to WordPress.com in search of more professional functionality and ease of use for our community.  Since the move, our exposure, and therefore our community, has continued to grow but at a more rapid pace despite it being the off-season.  Today we will surpass 20,000 views since we opened the doors here.  In April and May we had a combined 2011 views.  Last month (which included the hilarious “Happy Week”, we peaked at 5,080 visits for the month.  Perhaps that’s not much in the grand scheme of things when compared against the blogs tied into large media networks, but for a little indie blog it speaks volumes about how important it is for Knicks fans to have a venue to express and e-hear (i.e., read) non-mainstream voices and perspectives about our favorite basketball team. 

We picked Bloguin because they picked us and in the process of discussing their plans for the future, we concluded they were doing a great job in collaboration with indie blogs and that the Fanatics community would benefit greatly by joining their network of blogs. It all started with a nice message, left on our “About” page, from Dave Kelsey, one of the founders of Bloguin.  After I confirmed that Dave wasn’t a spammer rodent, I entered into what turned out to be great discussions with the Bloguin founders which included Dave, blogger and former Yardbarker exec Ben Koo and medical-doctor-to-be, Derek Hanson.  They offered three things which I decided not to refuse: 1) An opportunity to grow our audience and resources for better coverage of the Knicks and NBA; 2) absolute and total control of our blog content and 3) a little chump change from the ads sharing our blog space.  You will see that the result of those collaborations is a space we can continue to be proud to do our thing at.

Bloguin.com started a year ago. The concept behind the venture was to provide resources to sports and entertainment bloggers to enhance their resources, aesthetics and financial viability while offering greater distribution to advertisers.  On October 28th, the one year anniversary of Bloguin, the community will be about 100 blogs strong including 21 professional basketball blogs. 

We expect to see you at the new space when we open.  I recommend that you go to Bloguin.com now and register.  Take a look around the neighborhood while you’re there.  I’ll provide more details about the open house as we get closer.

Finally, big ups and credit to the Fanatics family for making this move and continued progress possible. The biggest props go to Peaceman who had the foresight to put up a bare bones blog page and throw it in my lap for development, despite my protestations regarding starting and managing a blog .  It was that move by Peaceman that has captured my imagination and inspires me to make sure we have a safe place to provide the best venue for adult sports blogging.

See ya soon.

October 14, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

17 Comments »

  1. Great to here bout the new crib.

    Thanks Lives for offering the 411 and updating us on the result of the recent game and Nate’s tats.

    Comment by Ghost of O&B | October 14, 2009 | Reply

  2. These guys are in it to make money.Why the move?

    Comment by Tman | October 14, 2009 | Reply

    • I have an answer for you, but I’ve got to find time to edit it. Hopefully, I can respond (and gladly) by this evening.

      Comment by livesinnewjersey | October 15, 2009 | Reply

    • Why the move?

      Tman,

      There are many reasons, but I will not list them all. Money is one of the reasons, but at the moment it is very far down on the list, especially since by my calculations at our present rate of viewership KF would make $11.00 a month more or less. Consequently, whether Bloguin.com profits from KF’s membership does not weigh heavily in the decision to move, except that their profitability allows them to help me achieve my primary objectives.

      –The main reason for the move is that the opportunity which presented itself was the natural progression of our efforts to make KF better in terms of aesthetics, functionality and influence.

      Or to put it another way, the move is primarily about power and passion – on one hand the move is about enhancing the blog’s ability to attract a strong quality audience to build upon an already vibrant community of voices. It is about putting the Fanatics in a better position to have those voices, including mine, exposed to a larger audience so that our views and perspectives become a greater part of the battle of ideas and shaping of images in mainstream media.

      The move is designed to place KF in a better position for those involved to pursue this endeavor of passionate fellowship in a technically supportive environment without the burden of all the administrative and design tasks in addition to the much of the writing, research and content development falling solely on one individual – namely me. Bloguin provides the technical support that will allow me to focus on other, less time consuming and more interactive aspects of sports blogging.

      I don’t do much without a strong desire to create the best product possible. I want KF to be better and heard on a larger platform without having to be a slave to mainstream media tools such as ESPN, Newsday or the Daily News.

      It really came to a head when I decided to cover the Draft and the Summer League for the Fanatics. It was great fun, but it turned out to be another job which quite frankly I don’t need (I just need to make more money at the ones I have). While I love the role of the outsider bucking the system, gaining access to places I don’t belong by the sheer force of my old age, it was also clear that I wanted and needed more access to the players in the game of professional bball. I happen to have a few friends in the NBA (some muckety mucks) and even they could not get me press credentials or access without their presence because I was not from a “legitimate” news provider. I did not like being without access. But, I am an old fighter and I don’t believe that I need ESPN or the Press Club to make me legitimate.

      I believe that KF can be independent and produce the type of work, audience and environment that is an integral element of sports reporting, analysis and blogging overall. However, like with most things, it cannot be done at the highest level alone or in a vacuum. Joining a network of blogs attempting to achieve the same goal is just the natural progression of what I think KF can be and what I want some of my own writing to do: Speak “truth” and create power.

      There are some other reasons, not necessarily in the order of priority:

      –Wordpress.com does not allow third party widgets. Bloguin allows them which means the playlist is more accessible. I like sounds with my blogging.

      –Wordpress.com does not allow the iframe for CoveritLive which means that it is difficult for anyone else to set up the LBE’s without extensive assistance from me. This zaps even more of my time which interferes with the all important family time.

      –Growth of the audience and the attraction of new voices and perspectives. Unfortunately for me, being the administrator of the blog is substantially different from being a semi-comedic provocateurs. My main task is to keep the community engaged, active and fed. I don’t want to be stuck just writing commentary for links to the daily news; I want to engage in a battle of ideas and perspectives. I need fresh meat to feed that hunger and passion. Occasional fights with Statesman does is great but I want more encouragement for having to create content based on beat reporter ‘s interpretation of the news.

      –The opportunity to make money. I am familiar with Marx, Lenin, Mao and Trotsky (probably not as well as you are with major philosophers) and while I respect, with some disagreement, their varied positions, I am a capitalist alpha dawg at heart. I see a couple of books and some Knicks Fanatics T-shirts being sold at the Knicks Fanatics store in KF’s future, so that I can prove to my wife that my excessive Bball writing (instead of working on that novel I told her I would finish years ago) is not a waste of time and I can have a financial excuse to travel to the All-Star game and the NBA Finals. (In fairness, she would be supportive anyway, but it is better if all things have a benefit for the spouse, you understand).

      –The opportunity to further the Knicks Fanatics brotherhood by eventually at least partially financing a conference in New York and D.C.; a conference not paid for with all the money out of our pockets.

      –I like the Bloguin founders and the work they put into wooing KF to their group. They provided, what I think is a beautiful sight and good tools for blogging. Certainly, they can’t make money without a bunch of writers to provide content and an audience for advertisers, but the revenue is shared and their ability to become bigger fits with my goals.

      –The worst that can happen is that the Knicks suck, the Fanatics don’t show up and I go back to WordPress.com if it doesn’t work out.

      T, I hope all the above satisfactorily answered your question and I hope you help us move some of the furniture over to the new digs.

      Love Ya Broman. Lights are coming on in the new mansion at Midnight,

      LIVES

      Comment by livesinnewjersey | October 15, 2009 | Reply

      • Asked and answered.And very well too.Back at KNation I once called you Precision.It still fits.Got your back baby!T

        Comment by Tman | October 15, 2009

  3. On another note,the answer for Gallo may be sitting at home in NJ.His name is the former state senator,the Honorable Bill Bradley.Gallo is not a super quick guy at 6’10”, quick for size, but not super quick.Rightly, from a defensive standpoint, he is being jammed by his defenders.So he is having trouble getting comfort room for his shot.After all he is also a step slow on his move to the basket.What he needs to do better, with the help of his team mates, is move without the ball.If he keeps his motion constant and brings his defender around and into several picks, a la The Dollar, he will create the space he needs for his J, or a driving opp..Bradley was the absolute best at that.Reggie Miller and his Detroit clone had nothing on him.Bradley was a great shooter with absolutely no quick step to the basket.By the way, delivering that kind of pass is a Duhon specialty.A sitdown and a few demos from the master might be perfect for a quick learner like Gallo.I’m sure Dollar Bill has many things on his plate, but you never know.He might say, “yes”.He could be a perfect role model for Gallo,and it could all happen real quick, in one or two practices.If you don’t ask, you don’t get.Free Plax/LGK

    Comment by Tman | October 14, 2009 | Reply

  4. TMan has a good idea. Why not ask Dollar Bill? Also ask y Walt Frazier to offer a few lessons to Duhon and Douglas on how to play the point; Clyde at least is already in the building for most home games. If Gallo needs a role model, my choice would be Larry Bird–also very slow afoot but a first rate point-forward. The Rooster clearly needs to get his legs and shot back soon or else he will be referred to more popularly as a Turkey.

    Comment by Post-up Prince | October 14, 2009 | Reply

    • More like Jive Turkey! LOL!

      Anyhow those be sage words by T’Man and PUP!

      Comment by Ghost of O&B | October 15, 2009 | Reply

  5. I’ve registerd and am ready to ROCK THE BLOGUIN World!
    The real question is; are they ready for us? LOL

    Comment by Peaceman | October 15, 2009 | Reply

  6. Peaceman,

    They might not be ready for you or I or the rest of the crew for that matter. But here we come!

    Comment by orangeandblue1 | October 15, 2009 | Reply

  7. Lives,

    I look forward to adding my voice to the community over at bloguin.

    I have ideas as well that I hope will help amp us up and get us the recognition we deserve.

    Did you get the pics/graphics I sent you for Friday’s game and LBE?

    Goodevening gents

    Comment by orangeandblue1 | October 15, 2009 | Reply

    • I haven’t gone through my e-mails today and for some reason I have over 100 but I’ll check it out. In the meantime, I put up a post to let everyone know there is an LBE happening. BTW, Post-Up and Peace, I can set it up but I can’t run it tonight. Gotta add some balance to life in the real mansion so I can watch all the regular season games without those shameful glances popping me in the back. I’ll throw it up now. I think I will continue to post here and there until Sunday and the move is complete. I think.

      Comment by livesinnewjersey | October 16, 2009 | Reply

  8. Steady rolled over to the new spot.
    Say Admin, I give you extradition rights to the “steaddy” Avatar. But be mindful to give Steady a capital S and hold back one D for []’Anfoni. Our side can use it.

    OKFL

    Comment by Steady | October 16, 2009 | Reply

  9. Yeah man, I always wondered how Steady got spelled that way but anyway it’s time to take the brotherpic away to another venue. But why you want to lump him in with Polanski as another extraditable.

    Look forward to e-seeing you soon.

    Comment by livesinnewjersey | October 16, 2009 | Reply

  10. Congrats guys, look forward to checking out your new spot.

    Comment by TG | October 16, 2009 | Reply

    • Thanks TG. We look forward to e-seeing you soon.

      Comment by livesinnewjersey | October 17, 2009 | Reply

  11. Congrats, look forward to checking out your new website. It’s very good to come on internet. In now day’s internet is much popular.

    Comment by berry | June 11, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

